Wodonga scoops the pool

WODONGA completed the feature double at the Ovens and Murray District Swimming Championships for the first time yesterday when James Jarrous and Georgia Stadelmann claimed both 100-metre freestyle crowns.

Stadelmann won her second Gordon Dowling Trophy when she edged out teammate Olivia Plunkett and Jarrous ended a run of four successive Dr Worch Trophy triumphs by Josh Fagan by leading in a Wodonga trifecta.

Stadelmann became the first Wodonga swimmer since Ina McCullough in the early 1960s to win multiple open 100-metre freestyle titles.

Olympian Belinda Hocking’s seven-year record of 59.44sec for the event stayed intact with Stadelmann’s winning time being 1:00.68.

Jarrous (56.72) was also outside the race record of 53.83 held by Riley Schmidt.

Harrison Lowe and Heath MacLeod filled the minor placing as Wodonga occupied the first six placings.

Jarrous became the first Wodonga winner of the race since Matthew Amer in 2008, but the feature double had eluded the club until yesterday.

Wodonga blitzed the two-day championships held at Yarrawonga.

Stadelmann was the most successful swimmer of the meet with 10 gold medals including three records.

The 15 years 50-metre freestyle record had been held by Sydney Olympian Jacinta Van Lint until Stadelmann clocked 27.50sec.

Her other records came in the 15 years 100-metre freestyle (1:01.83) and 50-metre butterfly (29.99).

Jarrous claimed seven gold medals across the weekend.

Heath MacLeod went on a record-breaking spree in the 13 years age group.

He set new marks in the 50-metre freestyle (26.88), 100-metre freestyle (58.74), 50-metre breaststroke (33.99), 100-metre breaststroke (1:15.69) and 400-metre freestyle (4:29.80).

In the 13 years age group, Wodonga’s Ben Bayes-Smith set two new records in the 50-metre backstroke (31.29) and 100-metre backstroke (1:08.09) and Albury North-Lavington’s Bronson Meehan broke the 50-metre butterfly (29.24) and 100-metre butterfly (1:06.05) marks.

MacLeod’s sister Lucinda won two gold medals including a smashing of the eight years 50-metre freestyle record by more than three seconds.

Their father Craig MacLeod also broke two records.

Another Wodonga swimmer Mackensey House equalled a Van Lint record in the 11 years 100-metre freestyle with a winning time of 1:10.02.

Harrison Lowe won eight gold medals including eight in the 14 years age group.

GT Aquatics Riley Briggs was the standout swimmer in the 12 years age group with nine golds and another GT Aquatics swimmer Natalie Gibbons won seven gold and Wodonga’s Alyce Parker won six.

Other male multiple gold medal winners were Taj Watson, Will Pargeter, Bailey Clemson, Christian Stadelmann, Tyson Mutsch, Matthew Riches, Austin Shepherd, Eddie Ziebarth, Will Matheson, Josh Hargreaves, Lachie Davison, Mitchell Brown, Patrick Schnelle, Mark Watson and Matt Ward.

Female swimmers to win more than one gold medal were Ella Riches, Claudia Ziebarth, Jane Archer, Kayla Garoni, Romee Thwaites, Isabelle Renner, Maddie Hedderwick, Emma and Kate Brown, Grace Harmer, Lynee Lawless, Elli Warren and Olivia Plunkett.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide