Henty’s hat-trick of Shield titles

HENTY has won the Jack Odewahn Memorial Shield triples for the third successive year.

The event began in 1986 for country clubs in the Albury and District Bowling Association and has been held annually since.

In recent years, three country clubs from the Wagga district have also taken part in it.

Henty teams have dominated the shield in recent years and this season defeated Oaklands 62-48 in the final, set up by a superb start with Henty leading by 25 shots after just 10 ends.

But the Oaklands rinks bowled well in the later stages to close the gap.

The Henty rink skipped by Bruce Diffey got 11 shots in two ends to set up a big margin against John Danaher’s rink.

Diffey had Trevor Taylor leading for him and Kevin Bourke second.

Bourke was a driving force behind the formation of the Odewahn Shield competition and it was fitting that he was in the winning team.

Henty’s Don Schmidt, John Kilo and skip Graham Scholz defeated Mark Sutcliffe’s rink by three shots.

They led all day after scoring four shots on consecutive ends early on.

The other Henty rink of Chris Maher, Jeff Steinke and skip Noel Stein was leading 13-3 at the halfway mark against Matthew Richens.

But Richens produced a form reversal to take control of proceedings and finally won 19-15.

A record 20 teams took part in the three-bowl triples competition.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide