Top drivers to fight out compact speedcar title

OPEN wheel and sedan drivers from across the eastern states will converge on Wangaratta City Speedway tomorrow night to do whatever it takes to finish first in their respective races.

Six Queenslanders, three New South Welshmen and 14 Victorians will fight it out in their compact speedcars to see who will be crowned Victorian Champion in the Parr Motorsports 1000.

Former Victorian Herb Hecker, NSW champion Gary Hudson and NSW’s Rob Eyeington are just three of the interstate drivers who will be keeping an eye on home state gun drivers Robbie Gordon, Mark Cecil and Michael Dickson.

With the returning Jason Crawford and Speedcar racer Brad Day in the Mike Griffiths machine thrown into the mix, there is a great line-up to thrill race fans.

The only female in the field is Queenslander Emma Harris, who will drive the No. 41 car.

The Production Sedan division also will be chasing $1000 in prizemoney when they compete in the Ryans Refrigerated Transport 1000.

Twenty drivers are expected to start in the feature race, which will be held later in the night.

Nominations include four-time NSW state champion Trevor Mills from Corowa, Frank Packer from Queensland, Wayne Bourke from Leeton and Albury’s Rodney Anderson.

Another division on the program is the entertaining Vic Sports Sedans.

Standard Saloons, VSC Open Ladies Sedans and VSC Open Junior Sedans fill out the program.

Gates open at midday with racing from 4pm.

Entry is $20 for adults, $15 for concession holders and free for children under 18.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide