Mark Byatt loses spot on CFA’s board


WODONGA mayor Mark Byatt has lost his spot on the Country Fire Authority board of management.

Cr Byatt joined the board in 2010, but didn’t secure re-election when his three-year term expired recently.

He was a Municipal Association of Victoria nomination to the board.

The CFA had two representatives from Wodonga with former councillor Ross Coyle and Cr Byatt joining the board in 2010.

Mr Coyle was a volunteer fire brigades nomination and had his tenure extended by 12 months in March.

But Cr Byatt missed out.

“I did put my hand up for re-appointment through the MAV,” he said.

“I assume the minister has determined the CFA needs a different set of skills or representation around the table.

“I didn’t expect an extension, but I was happy to take one if the opportunity was there.

“You wouldn’t put your hand up if you didn’t think you had more to contribute.

“It is a decision of the government and I respect that.”

CFA board members were paid $11,679 each year in 2011, according to its website.

The board is accountable to the Police and Emergency Services Minister Kim Wells and consists of a chairman and 11 other members.

Cr Byatt has been a CFA volunteer for more than 30 years and a District 24 Victorian Rural Fire Brigades Association president before resigning when he joined Wodonga Council in 2008.

He has been mayor since he joined the council and was re-elected last October.

Other roles outside of the council Cr Byatt has includes being the chairman of Regional Capitals Australia and Regional Cities Victoria.

Last October he was elected to and immediately became chairman of Regional Development Australia’s Hume region committee.

Wodonga Council was unsuccessful with a $6 million funding bid from the federal body Regional Development Australia in its latest funding round. Greater Shepparton Council was the Hume region’s successful applicant.

It will receive $7.2 million for a regional sports precinct similar to the proposed Baranduda Fields concept promoted by Wodonga Council.