AUSTRALIA DAY: Farmer ‘indebted to all’

Alwyn Collins
Alwyn Collins

WALBUNDRIE farmer Alwyn Collins was named the Greater Hume Shire’s citizen of the year.

Mr Collins has been involved with many organisations in his community including the Walbundrie Co-op, the Rand-Walbundrie football club, the annual show in October and the Walbundrie grounds committee.

He was one of eight people nominated for the coveted award.

When announced the winner, Mr Collins told the large gathering: “It’s a bit of a surprise to me.”

“It has been a great place for me to bring up a family. I am very indebted to you all.”

Mr Collins said he was just one of many trying to keep small business and sporting clubs going in his community.

A former councillor for 50 years with Hume and subsequently Greater Hume, Bill McDonald, was also nominated for the award.

The others were Debbie Wenke (Walla), Helen Vanduursen (Jindera), June Sutherland (Wymah), Michael George (Culcairn), Myrna Frohling (Burrumbuttock) and Sybil Ritchie (Henty).

There were two nominations from Holbrook for the young citizen of the year.

Carrington Melbourne was announced the winner of the award with Jacklyn Cottrell being the other nomination.

The sports star award was won by Culcairn’s Jeremy Finlayson, who has excelled in several sports and is on a scholarship with AFL club Greater Western Sydney.

The other nominations were long-time Walla football identity Garry Mickan, Holbrook’s Jim Grills for football and polocrosse and Melanie Parker (Holbrook) for netball.

The Culcairn Classic Car Club’s show and shine was named as the community event of the year.