2014 Sport Albury-Wodonga Young Achiever Award


Twelve finalists representing 10 sports have been announced as part of the Sport Albury-Wodonga Norske Skog Young Achiever Award.

Sport Albury-Wodonga president Rob McDonald said he was happy with this year’s field.

“We have a very good group of nominees,” he said.

“There are a number of people of a very high quality in there.”

Casey Wild (golf)

Josh Briant (water skiing)

Matthew Ward (swimming)

Mahalah Mullins (snowboard slopestyle)

Jocelyn Bartram (hockey)

William McIntosh (cricket)

James Willett (clay target shooting)

Nathan Rodgers (triathlon)

Jordan Boys (kart racing)

Zach Murray (golf)

Nick Dempsey (water polo)

Ben Hooppell (hockey)

Last year’s award was taken out by Wodonga-born Paralympian sprinter Jodi Elkington, who competed at the London Paralympics in 2012.

Former Albury softballer Peta Edebone, an Olympic silver and bronze medallist, will be a special guest on the awards night.

Mr McDonald said it was important to bring the region’s high achieving athletes back for the ceremony.

“We always try to obtain a good guest speaker to inspire the young achievers and make them strive for a little more,” he said.

The award is based on performances during the past 12 months.

“We’ll go through each of the finalists’ resumes bit by bit,” McDonald said.

The awards presentation will take place in the Commercial Club auditorium on Friday, March 21.