State’s best in for shootout

RACING returns to Wangaratta City Speedway tomorrow night, with the main event a standard sedan shootout bet-ween Victoria’s top guns and local drivers.

The match will see many of Victoria’s best trying to pry away the $1000 first prize from Wangaratta’s best.

The 30-strong contingent to compete in the Super Axe 1000 includes Victorian champion Chris Stewart, along with his brother, Shane, Mick Chrystie, Matt Domburg, Jacob Vuillermin and Corowa racer Warrick Howie.

They will mix it up with Wangaratta club members Stuart Densem and Andrew Robl, and station wagon her-oes, brothers Gary and Trevor Evans.

It is anybody’s race, with 30 drivers in the battle for the final qualifying spots before embarking on the chase for “the grand in the hand”.

The target is on the back of the visitors, with the locals primed to defend their turf.

Also on the program are the sports sedans in what will be their final round of the Darren Levy Memorial series.

Brodie Montague, Rhys Collins, Craig Cottier, Jamie Ross and Simon Hill will pull out all stops in their efforts to win the first series run for the memorial.

There have been some close battles between Montague, Collins and Ross this season, and, with a couple of visiting drivers such as Jamie Paull and Dale Hallett capable of a win, things should be interesting as the series concludes.

Melbourne’s compact speedcars visit again for aggregate points for their club, with competitors such as Robbie Gordon, Mark Cecil and Matt Adams dicing in the dirt.

There are also ladies and juniors events.

Gates open at midday, with racing from 4pm.