Henty breaks Cats’ fortress

Henty coach Brent Piltz
Henty coach Brent Piltz

UNDEFEATED Henty broke one of the Hume Football League’s longest hoodoos when it scored a gutsy 12-point victory over Osborne at Osborne on Saturday.

The Swampies won at the ground for the first time since 2002 when they kicked six goals to three in the final term to prevail 17.5 (107) to 14.11 (95).

In doing so they collected the John Jacobson Memorial Trophy.

Henty coach Brent Piltz said the Swampies reaped the rew-ards for their persistence.

“It was a big win for the footy club,” Piltz said.

“We haven’t won at Osborne for 12 years and the boys really had to fight for it.

“The game ebbed and flowed all day and it was pleasing the way we ran out the game because Osborne has some really good kids who run hard all day.

“It’s been a good start to the year but there is a long way to go.”

Piltz once again led from the front with a best on ground performance while fellow veteran Jason Brown was dangerous with five goals and Jamarl O’Sullivan took marks at crucial stages of the match.

Heath Ohlin won a swag of possessions in the midfield, with help coming from Josh Spencer and Sam Murray.

Osborne paid the price for a slow start with the Cats trailing by as much as four goals before Connor Galvin, Sam Rutland and Simon Lane lifted and helped the Cats back into the contest.

They pushed ahead to lead by six points at the final change but were unable to counter a late surge from Henty, which remains undefeated with Rand-Walbundrie after three rounds.

Jindera’s disappointing start to the season has continued with the Bulldogs being thumped by Brock-Burrum by 74 points at Jindera.

The Saints broke clear in the second quarter through the class of Dean Murphy and Darryn McKimmie and were never threatened with Trent Storey, Josh McCudden, John-Roy Williams and Joe Boulton in the thick of the action.

Jacob Millar, Matt McDonald and Isaac Pound tried to lift Jindera.

Rand-Walbundrie defeated Murray Magpies by 41 points.

With Dean Roulstone showing flashes of brilliance in attack with five goals, the Tigers skipped clear early and never looked back with Aaron Gordon, Mark Kreutzberger and Ben Maiden dominating.

The Magpies suffered a blow when ruckman Ben Ryan withdrew from the team and the workload proved too much for lionhearted performers Jarman Teesdale, Luke Bisset and Hayden Edwards.

Culcairn accounted for Walla by 62 points.

Lion James Morris proved the biggest difference between the teams with seven goals while Graham Fruean and Wil Haines also impressed for the winners.

Walla were best served by Shaun Fitzpatrick and Kane Mathieson.