State’s best to fight it out for bowls pairs’ title

THE Victorian Country masters mixed pairs bowls tournament starts at the Yarrawonga-Mulwala Golf Club Resort tomorrow.

It is the seventh year the event has been hosted by the club and play continues over three days with some superb players taking part.

Last year’s winners, Tony Williams (Benalla) and Stacey Collier (Mooroopna), are back to defend their title.

There are also many players who have previously claimed the prestige event, including Joy Johnson, Vern Rehe, Ann Miles and Melissa Larcombe (Roberts).

A full field of 42 teams will take part and they will be vying for $5000 prizemoney plus the status of state masters titleholders.

The vice-president of Bowls Victoria, John Fisher, will officially open the tournament at 8.30am.

Sectional play starts soon after and there will be five rounds to sort out quarter finalists.

Semi-finals will be played on Sunday morning at 9am with the final scheduled to start at 1pm.

Organisers are elated with the standard of entries received this year as the event continues its annual improvement.

The other previous winners have been Max Watts and Gwen Waegeli (2008), Neil Loveridge and Joy Johnson (2009), Vern Rehe and Melissa Roberts (2010), Bob Adams and Ann Miles (2011), Matt Muller and Anne Delphin (2012).

- Wodonga’s premier A1 pennant team heads to the state play-offs at Barham tomorrow.

It has a tough draw competing against the best teams in the state and goes into the competition with four players unavailable.

Peter McLarty, David Swasbrick, Mick McDermott and Klive Liverton are missing from the team which defeated Corowa Civic in the Ovens and Murray final.

Ray Moon missed out on selection due to only coming back from foot surgery for the last few games of the season.

Wodonga plays Colac in its first game tomorrow, followed by Chalambar from Horsham, Geelong West, Maffra and finishes with the premier league winner Clayton in the final game.

The Wodonga team is David Smith, Steve Coulston, Paul Davies, Ashley Bates (s); Bernie Jones, Chris Bird, Bob Harbridge, Paul Carey (s) and John Howes, Josh Rudd, John Dawson and Jason King (s).