Don’t skip bowler of the year awards

John McDonnell with the championship trophies. Picture: MATTHEW SMITHWICK

John McDonnell with the championship trophies. Picture: MATTHEW SMITHWICK

THE Albury and District Bowling Association’s presentation day and bowler-of-the-year count will be held on Sunday.

More than 200 people are attending the annual event which will be held at the Commercial Club starting at 1pm.

The association has this year organised trophies for the winners of the district’s various championships — the fours, triples, pairs, singles, senior pairs and singles, state president’s pairs and singles along with the under 45 pairs.

The trophies have been arranged by John McDonnell, who was largely responsible for the introduction of the bowler-of-the-year count and its continuing success.

Other districts in Zone 8 (Riverina) along with Bowls NSW officials have expressed interest in the concept.

They have attended the function in recent years and been impressed with the format.

This year the Zone 8 secretary Bill Spletter (Temora) is a guest at the function.

McDonnell has arranged sponsorship this year from Murray Gardens Retirement Village and representatives from it are attending.

There will be cash prizes for the bowler-of-the-year winners in the various grades.

Pennant badges will be presented to the winnewrs in each grade — North Albury (grade three), Lavington Panthers (grade four), Commercial Club (grade five), Holbrook (grade six) and Henty (grade seven).

Presentations will be made to two people who have had significant contributions to their clubs and districts.

The district sought nominations for those awards some time ago.

Meanwhile, a hastily arranged team managed to win the recent annual two-bowl triples tournament held at the Lavington Panthers.

The host club’s Bill Collins, Laurie Dempsey and skip Max Findley formed a team belatedly when a team which had previously nominated withdrew.

There were no four game winners, but Findley’s team had three wins and a number of shots to finish in top spot.

A composite team of Bob Parks (North Albury), Jim Lee (Culcairn) and skip Norm Honey (North Albury) finished second.

The prize for the best last game winner went to North Albury’s Merv Curphy, Bob Pressnell and Gerald O’Brien.