Thunder five for Group 9 rep squad

ALBURY and Southcity have the strongest representation in the Group Nine representative squad announced last night.

Five Thunder players and five Southcity players are in the squad of 19.

Cootamundra has three and Gundagai’s new recruits Rulon Nutira and Matt Sauni are in.

Junee, Temora, Young and Kangaroos all have one member, with Brothers, Tumut and Tumbarumba the only clubs that are not represented.

Southcity’s Daniel Fitzhenry is captain-coach.

Training starts in Wagga on Wednesday night ahead of a game against Group 20 on May 17.

From there a Riverina squad will be selected to compete in the Country Championships with the winning coach to take the reins of Riverina.

In a format change in the Country Championships, divisions will again compete against each, Riverina first tackling Northern Rivers at Singleton on May 31.

Group Nine squad: Grant Boyd (Cootamundra), Luke Berkrey (Cootamundra), Andrew Cowhan (Albury), Glenn Dumbrell (Kangaroos), Mitch Davis (Albury), Daniel Foley (Junee), Daniel Fitzhenry (Southcity), Lou Goodwin (Albury), Willie Heta (Albury), Jack Hetherington (Young), Ben Jeffery (Albury), Peter Little (Southcity), Scott Matthews (Temora), Ned Mortimer (Southcity), Rulon Nutira (Gundagai), Serla Pera (Cootamundra), Nathan Rose (Southcity), Nick Skinner (Southcity), Matt Sauni (Gundagai