Extra team gives more a rep run

Culcairn’s Jim Lee has been selected to play in Zone 8’s blue senior team at Temora this month.

Culcairn’s Jim Lee has been selected to play in Zone 8’s blue senior team at Temora this month.

THE Albury and District Bowling Association has eight representatives selected for Zone 8 (Riverina) in the annual Four Rivers Challenge to be held late this month.

But the increased number comes from Zone 8 fielding two teams for the event being hosted at the Temora Bowling and Recreation Club.

The event has been running for many years with Zone 8 competing against ACT, Zone 5 and Zone 7.

Zone 8 last year managed a clean sweep of the three events at the Queanbeyan RSL Club.

It was indicated then by Zone 7 that it would not take up the offer to compete this year because of the prohibitive costs involved.

The Zone 8 executive made approaches to Zone 4, Zone 10 and the Ovens and Murray to see whether they were interested, but they declined.

So officials from Zone 8 decided to field two open teams, two senior teams and two junior teams to ensure the event continued.

The Zone 8 gold team is the first-choice bowlers in contention for the state sides championships at Dubbo later in the year.

But other players from the blue team may come into contention, depending on how they perform at Temora.

Howlong’s Wally Bourne has been selected as a second in the zone’s gold senior team.

There will be an all-Albury rink in the blue team of Glen Harrison, Kerry Boyle (Henty), Stephen Broad (North Albury) with Norm Honey (North Albury) skipping the rink.

Peter Forck (Henty) and Jim Lee (Culcairn) are in the blue senior team and Tom Papworth (Holbrook) in the blue junior team.

The Four Rivers event will be played on July 28 and 29.

The Zone 8 gold team is Apollo Birch (Wagga RAFC), Nick Gannon (Tumut), David Inglis (Wagga RSL), David Fergsuon (Wagga RAFC) s; Tim Crampton (Tumut RSL), Isaac Rayner (Wagga RAFC), Rick Potter (Barmedman), David Quigley (Young) s; Francis Ryan (Wagga RAFC), Michael Anthony (Barmedman), Ross Maguire (Barmedman), Christian Morgan (Narrandera) s; Peter Thornton (Griffith Ex-Services), Brad Thomas (Tumut), Brett White (Wagga RSL), Bruce Lack (Temora).

The gold senior team is John Salter (Tumbarumba), Wally Bourne (Howlong), Graeme Rossiter (Tumut) and Bill Butz (Tumbarumba) s.

Its junior team is Nick Williams (Wagga RSL), Kyle Spencer (Narrandera), Luke Helson (Leeton Soldiers), Brad Clark (Temora Ex-Services).

The Zone 8 blue team is Peter Durnan (Narrandera), Peter Watts (Young), Pedro Rudd (Wagga RAFC), John Harriot (Cootamundra Ex-Services) s; Sean Smith (Wagga RAFC), Daniel Thomas (Tumut), Bill Spletter (Temora), Col Firman (Barmedman) s; Wayne Foote (Barmedman), Robert Anderson (Cootamundra Ex-Services), Bryce de Bruyn (Wagga RAFC), Rob Marshall (Wagga RSL) s; Glen Harrison (Henty), Kerry Boyle (Henty), Stephen Broad (North Albury), Norm Honey (North Albury).

The senior team is Joe Gibson (Narrandera), Jim Lee (Culcairn), Peter Forck (Henty) and Max Sanbrook (Wagga RSL) s.

The junior team is Jakob Hersant (Junee), Travis Pigram (Binalong), Tom Papworth (Holbrook) and James Maloney (Young).