Border Mail staff nominated for journalism awards

THREE editorial staff from The Border Mail were last night announced as finalists in the 2014 Kennedy Awards for Excellence in NSW journalism.

The awards, which are in their third year, will be presented at the Australian Turf Club’s Royal Randwick on August 8, in memory of the late and legendary NSW crime reporter Les Kennedy.

Journalist Nigel McNay is a finalist in the Chris Watson Award for outstanding regional newspaper reporting for a series of stories on Albury Wodonga Health and its ongoing bid for funding to build services for the region.

Journalist Sue Wallace is a finalist in the outstanding travel writing award for her piece in the Saturday Pulse liftout on a visit to Nitmiluk National Park in the Northern Territory.

Photographer Dylan Robinson is a finalist in the outstanding sports photography award for his photograph of downhill bike rider Ben Watkins ahead of the Victorian State Gravity Enduro Cycling near Myrtleford earlier this year.