Albury Umpires League Hall of Fame welcomes 8 new inductees

EIGHT football stalwarts have been inducted into the Albury Umpires League Hall of Fame.

Bob Mannering, Ken Gogoll, Brian Smedley and Noel ‘Banjo’ Pattison were awarded Legends status on Saturday night, while Tony Lade, Ken Wright, Peter Smith and Roger Lescun were inducted into the Hall of Fame.

The eight have officiated more than 9000 matches between them.

About 150 people attended the function at Albury’s Commercial Club with former Wodonga coach and AFL umpires director Jeff Gieschen and VRC board member Greg Nichols the guest speakers.

Guests travelled from as far away as Queensland and South Australia.

AFL umpire Jacob Mollison and former AFL boundary umpire Mark Foster received special recognition awards.