Neade retains spot for Power

Former North Ballarat Rebel Jake Neade has retained his spot in Port Adelaide’s best 22 as he returns to Ballarat.

Neade played much of his junior football at Mars Stadium on his way to being traded to Port Adelaide via the Giants where he was a Northern Territory zone selection.

The 23-year-old has found it difficult to break into the Port Adelaide side this season after a breakout 2016, where he played 17 games – he has played only four matches this year. Having broken back into the side in round 21, his timing could not be better given he will now be a part of history as Ballarat hosts its first-ever AFL game at a venue that will hold special meaning to Neade.

Meanwhile, Port Adelaide’s opponent, the Western Bulldogs, have named two huge inclusions for Saturday’s match.

Veteran defender Dale Morris and Norm Smith medalist Jason Johannisen will both return from injury. Morris missed just three weeks with his broken arm while Johannisen missed two with a hamstring injury.

Jack Redpath is out following his three-week suspension while Mitch Wallis is the latest high-profile Bulldog to be dropped.

In other team selection news, Port Adelaide has made three changes with Jasper Pittard missing due to a calf complaint while Brendon Ah Chee and Jarman Impey have been omitted.

Talented key forward Todd Marshall will make his debut while Riley Bonner and Sam Powell-Pepper return to the line-up. 

Jake Neade

Jake Neade


B: S.Biggs, Z.Cordy, D.Morris

HB: R.Murphy, L.Young, M.Suckling

C: L.Hunter, M.Bontempelli, B.Dale

HF: J.Johannisen, J.Stringer, L.Picken

F: L.Dahlhaus, T.Cloke, T.Dickson

Foll: J.Roughead, T.Liberatore, J.Macrae

Int: T.McLean, J.Dunkley, B.Williams, C.Daniel

IN: D.Morris, J.Johannisen

OUT: M.Wallis, J.Redpath


B: R.Bonner, T.Clurey, D.Houston

HB: D.Byrne-Jones, T.Jonas, H.Hartlett

C: J.Westhoff, O.Wines, J.Polec

HF: S.Gray, T.Marshall, R.Gray

F: A.Johnson, C.Dixon, C.Wingard

Foll: P.Ryder, B.Ebert, T.Boak

Int: J.Neade, S.Powell-Pepper, K.Amon, D.Howard

IN: S.Powell-Pepper, R.Bonner, T.Marshall

OUT:J.Pittard,B.Ah Chee,J.Impey

This story Neade retains spot for Power first appeared on The Courier.