Nine Murrumbidgee Shire councillors finalised all have been on a council previously

FORMER councillors will fill all nine places on the freshly-chosen Murrumbidgee Shire.

The merged council, an amalgam of the old Murrumbidgee Shire and Jerilderie Shire, has three wards of three councillors.

Two were filled without contests.

They were Jerilderie ward with Ruth McRae, Faith Bryce and Gaila Smith and the Coleambally division with Robert Black, Christine Chirgwin and Austin Evans.

The ward centred on Darlington Point will be represented by Phillip Wells, Robert Curphey and Gavin Gilbert.

Mr Evans was the administrator of the Murrumbidgee Shire, while the other eight elected were part of the transition committee he appointed.

Mrs McRae, who will contest the mayoralty of the new shire, believes having a council filled with old blood will be beneficial.

“Effectively what we have is the same council representation we had prior to the merger and I think that will be very valuable moving into our new entity, because it brings a moderate, considered mindset to the table,” Mrs McRae said.

“There’s been a lot of comments that nobody put their hands up, the flipside of that is that our community was happy with its representation.”