The best of AWFA primed to take on the rest in annual charity clash

The best and fairest winners of each AWFA senior men’s side will take on the best of the rest in a special charity match later this month.

Players were put through their paces on the training track this week in readiness for the October 28 showdown, which will feature former Socceroo Josh Kennedy.

Albury City’s Matt Maw and Melrose’s Kade Rixon will coach the best and fairest side, while the best of the rest will be looked after by Cobram’s Adam Gatcum and Wodonga Diamonds’ mentor James Dexter.

All funds raised from the day will be donated back to Lifeline, Headspace and Survivors of Suicide.

It will be Maw’s second year as a coach for the match.

“Last year it was probably only four or five represented, but this year it’s all clubs for both teams,” Maw said.

“It’s nice to have a few of them play for you rather than cause you nightmares through the year.

“It’s good to see the camaraderie between them all, they all get along quite well off the pitch so it’s nice for them to play together.

“It’s a really good concept and for a good cause as well.

“We want to spread the awareness and hopefully raise some dollars as well.

“The main aim is to put on a good show for people that want to come and have a look at the best players in the competition on the women’s side and the men’s and also see a former Socceroo.

“It’s good for some of the young guys in the squad to be able to experience that and play with someone like Josh.”

Gatcum was also more than happy to be involved with the concept again in 2017, but admitted there will be some fierce competition between the sides.

“As much as it’s raising the money for the different charities, at the end of the day, as soon as you walk onto a football pitch you want to win,” Gatcum said.

“Last year we struggled to score goals so hopefully we can see a few more goals because it was only 1-0 last time.”

The teams are as follows:

Best and fairest: Matt Mildren, Kris Wheeler, Hayden Johnson, Thorne Maw, Tony Zahtila, Pieter Noordewier, Adam Burchell, Matt Park, Josh Zito, Bill Puckett, Nikola Bukvic, Matt Turner, Aaron Sewell, Adam Waters, Scott Mildren. 

The rest: Campbell Taylor, David Samiec, Billy Marshall, Aaron Feldtmann, Nathan Scott, Stoycho Ivanov, Jon Cochrane, Jesse Stephens, Morgan Payne, Matt Hasler, Dylan Nhansana, Bailey Dexter, Josh Fluss.