Federation Council ticket confirms Howlong 19-year-old among 10 members

YOUTH FACTOR: Howlong's Maisie Donlen is contesting the Federation Council election.

YOUTH FACTOR: Howlong's Maisie Donlen is contesting the Federation Council election.

HOWLONG teenager Maisie Donlen could become one of the region’s youngest councillors if elected to Federation Council.

The 19-year-old has joined a 10-member ticket headed by former Urana Shire mayor Pat Bourke which includes candidates from all corners of the merged local government area.

Eric Kerr was elected to Wodonga Council as an 18-year-old in 2012.

Ms Donlen holds down three part-time jobs including the Howlong Bakery where she was first approached to stand for council, but wants to become a paramedic.

“It will definitely be a learning experience,” she said.

“I’ve always been interested in the community and keen to help out where I could.

“I am excited and looking forward to it.”

The ticket has three former Urana Shire councillors, Mr Bourke, John Doyle and Ian Kreutzberger, in the first three places followed by Ms Donlen and former Corowa Shire councillor Joan Palmer.

The remaining ticket members are Andrew Dore, Gabrielle Taylor, Leanne Murphy, Matt Collins and Janice Watson.

Mr Bourke said he first became aware of Ms Donlen’s interest in standing three weeks ago.

“She is the type of person you would love to see on council,” he said.

“She is smart, bright and ticks all the boxes.

“She has got a heap of jobs going at the moment, but she is going to go back to study.”

The ticket has recruited people from Urana, Rand, Oaklands, Corowa and Howlong in a deliberate strategy, according to Mr Bourke.

“We didn’t want to be just about the northern end of the shire,” he said.

“Obviously we had to find people who were community minded and happy to be involved.

“But we wanted to be different to the other tickets.

“We are small in numbers, but the new shire is going to be about the whole of shire area.

“We’ve been to all the community meetings and found out what their needs, wants and desires are and thought it was a better approach to a new council.”



(Above The Line)

Shaun Whitechurch

Norm Wales

Stuart Whisson

Paul Phibbs

James Webb


(Above The Line)

Andrew Kennedy

Chris Kennedy

Lisa Starr

Adam Thomson

Winston Rhodes


(Above The Line)

Bronwyn Thomas

Stuart Seeliger

Elizabeth Seeliger

Alan Bridges

Robert Purtle


(Above The Line)

Pat Bourke

John Doyle

Ian Kruetzberger

Maisie Donlen

Joan Palmer

Andrew Dore

Gabrielle Taylor

Leanne Murphy

Matt Collins

Janice Watson


(Above The Line)

Mark Shields

Malcolm Goldsmith

Peter Opitz

Lisa Smowton

Louise Shields


Fred Longmire

Francesco Bruinsma


Daryl Davey

Paul Miegel

David Longley

Gavin King

Graham Withers

Gail Law

Gary Poidevin

Mick Robson

Neil Gorham

David Horton